MBA with an Emphasis

39-54 credit hours

In addition to earning an MBA, students may choose to customize their degree with an emphasis in a particular area of study. An area of emphasis is intended for students who wish to add an area of in-depth study to the business administration degree. To earn an MBA with an emphasis, the student must complete a minimum of four elective courses from one business area with a grade of B or better in each course. Available areas of emphasis are listed below.


To earn a Master of Business Administration with an emphasis, the student must complete the following degree requirements:

Foundation Courses (0-15 credit hours)

See MA and MBA Foundation Courses

Nine core business courses (27 credit hours)

ACCT 51011Managerial Accounting


FIN 52010Financial Policy


INTL 58001International Business Operations


MGMT 56030Management Practices


MGMT 56060Business Law and Ethics


MGMT 56070Statistics and Quantitative Analysis


MGMT 66080Business Policies and Strategies


MIS 54001Management Information Systems


MRKT 55010Marketing Principles and Issues


Notes: (1) MGMT 66080 is the capstone course, to be taken in the last term of the student’s program.

(2) In the event that taking a core course would require a student with an undergraduate degree in business to repeat coursework equivalent to that which the student has already taken, the school dean or the student’s academic advisor may advise the student to select an alternative, higher level elective course (from within the same discipline) to fulfill the core requirement.

Four elective courses (12 credit hours)

To earn an MBA with an emphasis, students must complete a minimum of four elective courses from one business discipline and achieve a grade of B or better in each course. No elective course in which a grade of C is earned may be applied to the emphasis. If a student receives a grade of C in any emphasis area elective course, an alternative course must be taken, or the course may be repeated if no alternative exists, for a grade of B or better. (Note that all grades will be calculated within the student's cumulative GPA.)

Note: In the event that core courses have been replaced by higher level elective courses (for students with undergraduate degrees in business), no such courses may simultaneously serve to fulfill the core requirement and the emphasis requirement. The student must still complete four courses within a single business discipline in order to earn an emphasis in that area.

Accounting Emphasis - MBA

Entrepreneurial Studies Emphasis - MBA

Finance Emphasis - MBA

Human Resource Management Emphasis - MBA

International Business Emphasis - MBA

Leadership Emphasis - MBA

Management Emphasis - MBA

Marketing Emphasis - MBA

Nonprofit Administration Emphasis - MBA

Supply Chain Management Emphasis - MBA